Founded 1923

Co. Westmeath

About Ballynacargy

Name: Ballynacargy

As Gaeilge: Baile na Carraige

Address: Moynihan Park, Ballysallagh, Ballynacargy, Co. Westmeath

Founded: 1923

County: Westmeath

Colours: Blue and Amber

Grounds: Moynihan Park, Ballynacargy

Club Crest: 


In the early 2000’s, the club designed a new crest to represent it. The crest has three motifs.

The first is the bridge over the canal of Wood Road. The canal and the harbour contributed significantly to the growth of the present village.

The second motif is that of the easily recognisable entrance to Moynihan Park in Ballysallagh. The sturdy gates and piers have remained strong through the years to support the banner proudly announcing to all that they are entering or leaving Moynihan Park, the home of Ballynacargy GAA since 1963.

The third motif is that of the Church of Kilbixy, which represents the rich religious heritage in Ballynacargy and surrounding areas which dates back to earliest Christian times.

The motto underpinning the motifs would probably be best translated “as solid as a rock” or as enduring as a rock in harmony with the name of our club, and the proliferation of rock lying beneath the rich pasture lands of the countryside. The club has enjoyed many successes and considerable heartbreaks down the years. Through all these trials and tribulations, the club has remained strong in harmony with the rock from which it is named.

The motto and motifs are enclosed in a shield representing the manner of depicting the clan and family in early Irish history. The sense of family and community has supported and kept the club alive and competitive down the years. The club would be recognised as being one of the best supported in Westmeath by its loyal band of followers.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play