Founded 1923

Co. Westmeath

Matt Slevin Memorial Tournament 25th September 2021

Download our mobile app to hear more about Ballynacargy.

See More

Matt Slevin

This event commemorates the great Matt Slevin, a legendary GAA figure and proud Ballynacargy man. Matt served his club and county with distinction both as a player and later as a mentor and tireless worker on club and county executives. As a player, Matt was a member of the Ballynacargy Junior team which won the clubs first ever junior title in 1939. Matt repeated this feat with the Ballynacargy team which won the 1948 junior title. Matt was a member of the Westmeath team that won the Leinster minor final against Louth in 1939. Ballynacargy came closest to winning a senior title in 1939 when they lost to Rosemount in the final and Matt was part of that team.

Matt Slevin was the driving force behind the early development of Moynihan Park in the 1960's and 1970's and was a dedicated and committed member of the club’s executive for many years. It wasn't just at local level that Matt Slevin made an impact. He served as Minor Board Chairman, County Board Chairman, County Board treasurer and Leinster Council delegate of Westmeath GAA throughout the 60's and 70's. Matt Slevin made a valuable contribution to CLG Iarmhi. Even though a prominent County Board administrator, Matt never forgot his club. Matt constantly strove to improve the club and its facilities. His drive, vision and commitment have provided a lasting legacy for Gaelic games in the Ballynacargy area. Effective, efficient, enduring and unwavering are words which best describe Matt Slevin’s phenomenal contribution to Ballynacargy and Westmeath GAA. As a former County Board Colleague said "he had a unique way with him and you don't get his type anymore".

Matt Slevin would be delighted that his hard work in the early development of Moynihan Park has paved the way for the continued and ongoing development of the club up to the present day. Matt would be very proud of the clubs outstanding facilities being put to great use by the many children attending today’s tournament.

Fr. Paschal Slevin

Today’s Shield competition commemorates the late Fr. Paschal Slevin, brother of Matt Slevin. Paschal was born in 1934. He is remembered as an excellent footballer, and was part of the Westmeath Minor Football team that won the Leinster title. Paschal studied locally until 1947 when he left to attend the Franciscan College in Multyfarnham.

Ordained in 1960, he began his charity works in the white-controlled Southern Rhodesia, joining the mission at Wedza. He drastically improved the infrastructure to support local families, establishing a boarding school and expanding the mission hospital.

Paschal’s positivity and kind-heartedness became renowned throughout the mission and he was awarded the Royal Order of Munhumutapa for his services to Zimbabwe. It's the highest award that can be bestowed on a foreigner. This award has only been accorded to six other people, five of whom were Presidents of newly independent African countries. His funeral was attended by the acting Ambassador of Zimbabwe based in London, who, as a child, attended the Wedza school established by Paschal.

We are honoured to have the Slevin Family sponsor the tournament. Members of the Slevin family will present the cup and shield to the final winners.

Match Day Referees:

Brendan Keena (Ballynacargy),

Mick Gordon (Shandonagh),

Enda Kenny (Ballinagore),

Mick Dillon (Milltown).

Schedule of Events

ü First round of matches starts at 11.00am with the final being played at 12.10pm approximately,

ü Each team will play 3 matches in total,

ü Medals and treats for all participating children,

ü Presentation of Cup and Shield to the final winners.

Pitch Number 1 (Referee –Mick Dillon)

11am – Ballynacargy V Ballycomoyle (Game 1)


11.35am – Winner Game 1 v Winner Game 2 - (Game 5)


12.10pm – Winner Game 5 V Winner Game 8 (Matt Slevin Cup Final)

Pitch Number 2 (Referee –Enda Kenny)

11am – Multyfarnham V St. Joseph’s (Game 2)


11.35am – Runner Up Game 2 V Runner Up Game 1 (Game 6)


12.10pm – Runner Up Game 6 v Runner Up Game 7 (Fr. Paschal Slevin 3rd/4th Place playoff)

Pitch Number 3 (Referee –Brendan Keena)

11am – Rosemount V Millmore Gaels (Game 3)


11.35am – Runner up Game 3 V Runner up Game 4 (Game 7)


12.10pm – Winner Game 7 v Winner Game 6 (Fr. Paschal Slevin Shield Final)

Pitch Number 4 (Referee –Mick Gordon)

11am – Milltownpass v Caulry (Game 4)


11.35am – Winner Game 4 V Winner Game 3 (Game 8)


12.10pm – Runner Up Game 8 v Runner Up Game 5 (Matt Slevin 3rd/4th Place Playoff)

Match Rules

Ø 10 players a side (Goalie, 3 defenders, 3 midfield, 3 forwards),

Ø 10 minutes per half,

Ø 1 hop/ 1 solo,

Ø No 45’s – all balls going dead over end line results in a kick out,

Ø Pick up’s - players should attempt proper pick but referees can exercise some discretion,

Ø Unlimited substitutions,

Ø Under the bar (goal) = 3pts,

Over the bar = 1pt.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play